Introducing eclipse

And I don’t mean the vampire series. I mean the IDE (Integrated Development Environment). I used eclipse to write Java for quite some time. I finished my pre-graduate thesis with it. Lately I’ve been writing code almost exclusively on notepad++ but the idea of having an integrated environment to write any code is flickering in my mind.

The challenge. To write and compile most common code using eclipse. Apart from Java eclipse supports much more. So let’s start with installation. Eclipse is developed in Java itself so it will need a JRE to run. You can get the latest Java Runtime Environment here.

Last time I got to use eclipse I remembered that there was a package including everything. However as I was to download eclipse from the eclipse.org I could not find one. I downloaded the standard Java package (Eclipse Classic 3.6.2), the C/C++ package (Eclipse IDE for C/C++ Developers) and the PHP package (Eclipse for PHP Developers) that suffice for my needs. Then I extracted the eclipse folder of each one of them zips and merged the three folders into one overwriting everything. (As I guessed so it worked like a charm and I got to have java,C,C++ and web projects available).

My problem at first was that for some reason eclipse was searching for the JRE exclusively in …/eclipse/jre/ so I could not get the IDE get started at all. What I did eventually was to copy paste the JRE in my case …/java/jre6/ and rename the jre6 folder to jre.

So far I have Java, C , C++ and PHP support among with Javascript and HTML. To use LaTeX and VHDL as well I had to intall two plugins: TeXlipse and simplifide.The thing with simplifide is that it is not free. You can try it as there is a trial and it also has an academic license.

To install TeXlipse I went to Help –> Install new software and in the field “work with” I entered the url: http://texlipse.sourceforge.net. Below TeXlipse was available to install so I checked it and then clicked on Next. Coming soon: more details on how to use eclipse.

One thought on “Introducing eclipse

Leave a Reply

