Sony VAIO bloatware list

After having to remove manually all the useless software preinstalled to my computer I decided that a list to remind what is useful and what’s not would be nice.

  • Vaio Care – Recomended , maintenance tool
  • Vaio Content Metadata Intelligent Analyzing Manager – Used for media library
  • Vaio Content Metadata Intelligent Intelligent Network Service Manager – Used for media library
  • Vaio Content Metadata Manager Settings – Used for media library
  • Vaio Content Metadata XML Interface Settings – Used for media library
  • Vaio Content Monitoring Settings – Used for media library
  • Vaio Control Centre – Recommended, control panel for many useful things on the laptop
  • Vaio CW screensaver – Media content
  • Vaio Data Restore Tool – Software used to restore erased data
  • Vaio DVD Menu Data – Software used to create DVD menus
  • Vaio Entertainment Platform – Media
  • Vaio Event Service – Recommended , makes all he extra buttons and the fn functions work
  • Vaio Gate – The floating menu on top of screen
  • Vaio Gate Default – Settings for Vaio gate
  • Vaio Marketing Tools – Seems useless, I uninstalled
  • Vaio Media Plus – Media
  • Vaio Media Plus Opening Movie – Media
  • Vaio Movie Story Template Data – Media
  • Vaio Original Function Settings – Media
  • Vaio Personalization Manager – Media
  • Vaio Power Management – Recommended
  • Vaio Premium Partners – SONY partners, uninstall
  • Vaio Smart Network – Update: Recommended, Wireless devices manager
  • Vaio Transfer Support – To transfer media among devices
  • Vaio Update 5 – To update SONY software
  • Vaio Wallpaper Contents – The wallpapers in the device

Personally I prefer to Unistall everything but:

  • Vaio Care (useful)
  • Vaio Power Management (useful)
  • Vaio Control Center (useful)
  • Vaio Event Service (essential)
  • Vaio Wallpapers (because I like them)

I believe that the only thing essential is the Vaio event service. I used to keep vaio update but at some point it was installing some drivers for Playstation 3 controllers to the laptop and I find it really stupid to keep now. Also I remove McAfee, Norton, Arcsoft and any other software that may be there that I don’t use.

The above list is from a CW series VAIO. It is not complete as there are a couple more programs that I don’t mention (such us the media gallery, I think) because I don’t remember them and I don’t plan to recover the laptop to factory settings anytime soon, I just got it working! Hope that this is going to be helpful for many other trying to make their VAIO working machinery and not a digital playground of SONY crapware.

15 thoughts on “Sony VAIO bloatware list

  1. Vaggeli, thanks for the advices. I have a 3 months Vaio and wasn’t sure of what to keep and what to delete 🙂
    Eugenia

    • I find Vaio smart network to be just a gimmick. Windows 7 inbuilt wireless network management is far better and easier. Just my thought.

      • VSN is actually useful because it let you switch on and off devices like Bluetooth and other wireless equipment with just one click. I find this very useful on a laptop.

  2. I have been contemplating removing the Vaio Smart Network because I think it is acting like a virus on my computer. It’s constantly opening and trying to create a profile. It’s driving me crazy, it makes it hard to use my computer without interuption. It’s not being used for my wireless, Windows 7 is responsible for my conection to wireless internet. Any comments?

    • It’s not behaving like a virus because it doesn’t make any damage to your PC. VSN also asks to create a new profile when it connects to any new network for which no profile has been set, but you can just deny its requests. The nice thing of VSN is, as I mentioned in the first comment, to let the user to switch on and off wireless devices (for example, to spare battery), such as Bluetooth without entering in the control panel or without switching off the physical button on the laptop. Of course you can unistall it without any damages, but you’ll lose a fast and efficient way to manage your wireless devices.

  3. vaio update is as useless as a dead door knob. I rather see flies f*(&k if you know what I mean, these sony arsses expect me to pay to become a vip member to get their f&kn useless door crashing update. sony is just another chinese made junk and so is their junk I bought.

    • Well, you may be thinking that, but you could just inform yourself before buying a laptop or another and complain if it’s full of crap. And Vaio Update is actually useful, because it’s allow you to update every driver in your PC automatically.

    • Actually, Sony may have plenty of bloatware (which you can remove anyway) but I find the quality of the end model rather increased compared to that of other. For comparison in my personal experience I had 2 DELL laptops non-functional for no apparent reason. What should I assume about the company then? Nothing. I have to check what people think about it instead.

  4. I am just commenting to let you understand what a perfect encounter our child obtained reading through your webblog.

    She came to understand several details, which included how it is like to possess an ideal helping nature to make
    many more very easily learn certain hard to do issues.
    You actually exceeded her expectations. Many thanks
    for supplying such informative, safe, informative and easy tips on your topic to Emily.

  5. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.

    I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information.
    Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  6. Vaio Premium Partners – it’s not possible to uninstall this from my VAIO laptop. I click “Uninstall” it asks me if I’m sure, I say yes and the software is still there…

Leave a Reply

